New to Gun Dog Training and WPG's

SaskStallion

New to Gun Dog Training and WPG's

Post by SaskStallion » Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:12 am

Hi All. I'm new to Gun Dog training, and have a few questions on training our 4 month old WPG.
We are working on the standard obedience right now (sit, down, come, heel etc.).
A few questions have come up regarding how to start him with bird training:
1) We don't have access to birds, but have some wings and dummies that we have acquired. How should we start him on these?
2) He is a timid dog. How long should we wait before introducing .22 cal gunfire, and what is the best way to do this?
3) With him being timid, should we be skeptical of him becoming a decent hunting partner ?
4) How often should we be doing bird training at this age?

Here are some other questions we have that are non-hunting related:
1) We are working with him using a training collar (ie: choke chain style) and he seems to always want to pull during walks. Any ideas on getting him out of this behavior?
2) His training collar is cutting/wearing off the hair on his neck. Is this normal? Will his Griffon-like hair be ruined as a result of this? Is there something we can do to still enforce commands without this happening?

Thanks in advance for all of the help! As I'm new to this forum, I apologize if I'm not following the required format/protocol etc. I hear that this is a great resource for help, so I'm excited to see what people have to say!

RayGubernat
GDF Junkie

Re: New to Gun Dog Training and WPG's

Post by RayGubernat » Sun Nov 26, 2017 4:32 pm

SaskStallion wrote:Hi All. I'm new to Gun Dog training, and have a few questions on training our 4 month old WPG.
We are working on the standard obedience right now (sit, down, come, heel etc.).
A few questions have come up regarding how to start him with bird training:
1) We don't have access to birds, but have some wings and dummies that we have acquired. How should we start him on these?