What is the complete glossary of retriever commands?

JonBailey

What is the complete glossary of retriever commands?

Post by JonBailey » Sun Jun 24, 2018 8:12 pm

come
sit
down
leave-it
heel
no
fetch
kennel
quiet
the dog's name
roll over

I don't like HERE because it sounds too much like HEEL.

I am familiar with all the above because I am an experienced dog owner who has been to Humane Society dog obedience classes.

I have no experience in formally-trained hunting dogs for actual hunting purposes but understand there are specialized commands, hand signals, cues and whistle blows.

I have seen enough retriever videos and have heard the handlers shout some of the following at their retrievers while training in the field;

-dead bird back (when doing blinds)
-no bird, not sure of the exact meaning
-mark, I suppose this means the seated dog is to pay attention for any falling birds upon this command
-watch, same as mark?
-go, same as fetch?
-place, sit in a prescribed location as a stand
-hunt-em-up, perhaps a command to dead-hunt a bird the dog is unable to find while running a line?

Cues I've seen in videos:

-long whistle blow, stop, sit and face the handler for directions
-five tweets or three tweets, come back to handler, recall command
-two tweets, resume down-range action, eg. a marked retrieve, following a whistle stop
-e collar, a nick, or short jolt as a correction sometimes used in teaching new commands

If MARK is a command, I would not name a boy dog "Mark".

i've been told dogs should never confuse their names with verbal commands.

I would name a male something like, "Todd" and a bitch something like "Dorothy".
"Let Hercules himself do what he may, the cat will mew and dog will have his day." - William Shakespeare

CDN_Cocker

Re: What is the complete glossary of retriever commands?

Post by CDN_Cocker » Sat Jun 30, 2018 7:10 pm

JonBailey wrote:c

I don't like HERE because it sounds too much like HEEL.