Is my GSP hunting too fast?

Tuckerterra

Is my GSP hunting too fast?

Post by Tuckerterra » Wed Aug 22, 2018 7:35 pm

I have a GSP and she will be 2 in October. I had quite a few hunting hounds in the past but never a bird dog, so I am a rookie at the training methods used for birds. I also have never really used a bird dog to hunt with.

I have homing pigeons I've been using with her, and for the most part she seems to be doing alright. I work with her mostly walking down logging roads. I live in Maine so old toat roads are where I do most my hunting.

My question is whether my dog is hunting too fast. She runs the whole time she's hinting (in horse terms she is always at a fast trot to gallop).

I feel she is going too fast and she gets too close to the birds before she smells them (cause she's running). I don't know if this is true.

She does cover a ton of ground. Her GPS collar said she went 3.5 miles in the time I walked 1 mile.

Has anyone else had issues with this and if so how do I fix it. Or is this not a problem at all? I can slow her down by calling out "EASY!" And she will slow right down, but then she won't go out as far.

Thanks for your input

gonehuntin'
GDF Junkie

Re: Is my GSP hunting too fast?

Post by gonehuntin' » Wed Aug 22, 2018 8:29 pm

It is not a problem and her speed is definitely not to fast. If anything, it's slow. To give you an idea, my DD's average about 7mph hunting and DD's are not fast dog's. YOU have to learn to hunt a pointing dog and let her roll. SHE is doing what is natural for her. Many people feel, myself included, that's the faster a dog hunts, the more birds it will pin.
LIFE WITHOUT BIRD DOGS AND FLY RODS REALLY ISN'T LIFE AT ALL.

Tuckerterra

Post by Tuckerterra » Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:45 am

Okay, that's what I was wondering. Her AVG speed said 6.7. I guess I'm just amazed she can smell birds soon enough running that fast the whole time!

Tooling

Post by Tooling » Thu Aug 23, 2018 6:52 am