Total newb

Sylar

Total newb

Post by Sylar » Mon Oct 08, 2018 7:35 pm

I have a 4 month old britt and I've been teaching basic stuff like recall, sit, down, stay and some fun tricks like nose kissing and spin which is all going great. Housebreaking is still not 100% but getting there. My main reasons for getting a britt is to have a family companion that will help with upland hunting when the season comes. I'm not looking to do any sort of competitions with her and I'd be perfectly happy to have a dog that simply finds birds for me in the field. She's had some gun training from the breeder but I haven't exposed her to any gunfire myself since the only weapons I have are a .270 rifle and a 12 gauge shotgun (which I assume are far to loud to start out with). I'm just not really sure where to go with her training wise beyond basic obedience.

What should I focus on?
What are the essentials I need to be successful?
Will she this ability just come naturally to her as she grows older? I know she's still quite young but there's no signs or pointing yet.

I really just want to make sure she'll get interested in finding birds without breaking the bank.

cjhills
GDF Junkie

Re: Total newb

Post by cjhills » Tue Oct 09, 2018 7:44 am

Sylar:
You are probably on the right track. getting a really good recall is very important.
I don't worry much about birds or pointing at this age. You might let her chase a quail or two with their flight feathers pulled. Take her for a lot of walks in the field. If you plan to use a check cord get a 15 ft solid core 3/8 cord ( sold at Gundog Supplt or Lion Country) and let her learn to drag it. The solid core won't tangle. If you can take her where there are wild birds , that is generally good. But A rooster pheasant can be pretty intimidating to a young puppy. Let her learn about the field and have a good time being a puppy. Let her run free as much as possible and do not restrict her at this time.