Garmin GPS unit for dogs

pointshootretrieve

Garmin GPS unit for dogs

Post by pointshootretrieve » Sun Oct 23, 2011 5:35 pm

Anyone have the new Garmin tracker gps etc? Is this an e-collar tracker in one? Does it work well?

birddog1968
GDF Junkie

Re: Garmin GPS unit for dogs

Post by birddog1968 » Sun Oct 23, 2011 6:06 pm

Do you mean the Astro 320 or the sport dog gps tracker?

With the Astro and DC40 collars a ecollar can be added to the gps collar strap. Its not a one system does all, you still need your ecollar transmitter to work the receiver you place on the gps collar.
The second kick from a mule is of very little educational value - from Wing and Shot.

Hunters Pale Rider

Hunters Branch Jalapeno

nj gsp

Post by nj gsp » Sun Oct 23, 2011 7:02 pm

I just got the 320, and I'm still learning my way around it. I leave the DC40 on the collar by itself because there's not enough room on one collar for e-collar, beeper, bell, and the GPS too.

So far I like it, although I did have some trouble at first. The problem I was having is after turning the dog's collar off while driving to a different spot, the dog did not show up again on the map until I deleted the dog and re-added it. But now I think the dog collar had not had enough time to get a satellite fix and the 320 still thought the dog was over a mile away. Apparently letting the collars acquire a good fix off the dog before putting them on the dog is good advice.

The other thing I noticed is if you rename the dog, BaseCamp will only see the tracks associated with the last "known good" name assigned to the collar. I found this out when I ran the collar with one dog, then changed the name on the collar when I switched it to my other dog. The only visible tracks were the ones with the second name. After turning the dog collar back on, and renaming to the first name I was able to download the other tracks.