Intermediate hunter seeking breed advice

ben.roskelley

Intermediate hunter seeking breed advice

Post by ben.roskelley » Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:36 pm

Alright, I am an intermediate hunter, I am 21 and have experience handling working breeds like German Shepherds. I have been hunting for about 3 years now and am now taking a great intrest in upland fowl. I am curious about what breeds I should look into for a first time gun dog owner and trainer. I have read many books and the information in everyone differs so greatly its hard for me to really get a grasp. I know that sometimes it is best to seek advice from those who are equipped to deal with it so like I stated before, what are good breeds to start with when you are a first time owner??

Thank you all

kninebirddog
GDF Premier Member!

Re: Intermediate hunter seeking breed advice

Post by kninebirddog » Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:44 pm

biggest thing is the pup you get out of a litter find a breeder you can talk to
don't get an alpha pup get one that is happy being the middle of the pack to start

for me I love the brittany but again pick the breed you like go to some hunt clubs and trials and see dogs for your self
"I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all."
"When I hear somebody talk about a horse or cow being stupid, I figure its a sure sign that the animal has outfoxed them." Tom Dorrance
If you feel like you are banging your head against the wall, try using the door.

aylaschamp

Post by aylaschamp » Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:01 pm

Everyone on here has their preferences, mine is the GSP. That said, like Knine said, I would go to a few trials in your area and talk to people as well as see how the different dogs behave. The level in which you want to take your dog can tell us what venues would be best for you to visit as well. The biggest question is what do you want to do with the dog.