Inbreeding question

cruiser

Inbreeding question

Post by cruiser » Mon May 11, 2009 8:28 am

Hello all. I'm interested in getting into hunting with dogs (upland and water, maybe small game), and over the past couple of years I've done research on breeds, etc. I settled on a breeder, and have been anxiously waiting for the litter for about 10 months now. Pups were born last week, and the breeder mentions that the breeding was a mother/son pairing...
This breeder has 30+ years of experience with the breed, and has raised and bred many outstanding dogs. He's nationally, and I believe internationally, known with this breed. Seeing as I'm new to bird dogs, I don't feel I have enough experience to be critical of this pairing, but everything I've ever learned about genetics, and some experiences with "overbred" dogs from show stock, is telling me to avoid this.
What's the opinion of you folks? Is occasional inbreeding like this (he says it is very rare for him to do this) a no-no? I've got a lot of time and emotional energy invested already, but no money yet.
Thanks in advance for any advice.

Brittguy

Re: Inbreeding question

Post by Brittguy » Mon May 11, 2009 9:53 am